A part type with absolutely no physics

As a developer I want to move parts around that don’t interact with anything physically, and roblox makes my game slower when I do this because it updates a ton of unnecessary physics data every time any part moves. These parts are used for effects, effect emitters, adornments to other parts, map detail, etc.

Most of the parts I create from lua are not intended to interact physically in any way.

So I suggest a new part type that doesn’t have any physics interactions. No collisions, no gravity, no Touched event, nothing.

148 Likes

support!

4 Likes

100% support

4 Likes

Ye support

3 Likes

Interesting. Kinda like how collision groups work, but without the collision bit.

3 Likes

Support

1 Like

Attachments? Can you please give a more clear use case I’m having trouble seeing what this would be used for.

2 Likes

When you put a mesh/particle/light/sound in a part solely for the visual effect, roblox does a bunch of physics operations in the background for no reason. This takes up unnecessary processing time and it can become significant very quickly, especially with a lot of these effects.

2 Likes

I believe particles, lights, and sounds all work in attachments as of recently thanks to @Davidii.

I could see a use for it on meshes, though. Sometimes I wanna weld things on a character that do absolutely nothing ever physics wise.

3 Likes

This doesn’t make parts obsolete. You’re restricted to a zero-size emitter if you use attachments.

15 Likes

this has gotta happen, support

it’d probably not be placed in “BasePart” but more into its own seperate group “NoPhysicsBasePart” (or something like that)
“NoPhysicsMeshPart”, “NoPhysicsUnion”, all that stuff.

1 Like

There’s tons of uses for it. Parts that don’t interact with physics and can’t be detected by raycasts and pathfinding service and all the jazz.

Basically a way to create lots of lightweight parts that don’t lag if you make tons at once.