Replacing meshes via AssetID without scaling the MeshPart

Currently, if you want to replace a mesh with another, you would place in the AssetID or upload the mesh to the meshpart you want to replace.

However, the problem with this is that when uploading the mesh or entering the AssetID, the meshpart resizes to its original size.

I’m posting this because As A Roblox Developer I wanted to easily replace the meshes in my map, however all meshes resize back to the size of the mesh I’m uploading

Meshes I’m trying to replace

After inserting the ID of the mesh I want to replace the meshes

I’m not sure if this is possible to work around, as everyone relies on meshes uploading with their original size to make sure everything is in-place, but I was just wondering if there could be a possible solution to this.

8 Likes

you could use a simple script in the command bar to get all the meshes you’ve got selected and iterate through them and for each one save the original size and maybe position, then change the mesh and set the size (and position) to the original mesh’s stats.

EDIT: Nevermind, it should work except you can’t use a script to change the mesh ID :frowning:

i dont understand how that works and im not a scripter so :man_shrugging:

1 Like

sorry for necro, but

for i,v in pairs(BlockTerrainFolder:GetChildren()) do
	local TerrainBlockSize = v.Size
	v.MeshId = NewMeshId
	v.Size  = TerrainBlockSize
end

replace BlockTerrainFolder with the model that the terrain is in.
replace NewMeshId with the ID of the new mesh

does not work

58a413ea01120d0f790d91182ea5580170c2e633.png
fcb96ca60a7b55130dcefef2b1398d98dc2e45b1.png

edit: i tried adding a workspace. next to the model and i got this error
1cc158a679ac5cbd1eebf6625dd4fa2809509697.png

does that error mean its impossible to replace without scaling the meshpart?

1 Like

oh shoot. i forgot mesh ID was read only. sorry m8

• Group the parts you want to select into a model (which you already appear to have done)