The Humanoid's 80/20 features should be ported to Lua

User Stories:

As a developer, I am forced to make custom characters that don’t use Humanoids to get rid of unwanted Humanoid behavior
As a developer, I am unable to emulate Humanoid behavior easily or cleanly (e.g. making a multi-jump is either hacky (setting Sit/Jump repeatedly) or I have to guess how the Humanoid does it)

Use Cases:

A Solution:

80% of time is spent running 20% of code, and 20% of time is spent running the other 80% of the code: the 80/20 rule(guideline) applied to software development. It’s not exact, but usually there are specific features that use up the majority of resources (e.g. physics) and are constantly being calculated, and then there are a lot of other features that aren’t constantly being used (e.g. breaking joints on death).

It’d be great if the 80% of Humanoid implementation was moved over to Lua. Right now, Humanoids notoriously work via black magic and are continually abandoned so developers can make custom humanoids they have control over. Not only does this waste development time for us as developers, but it leads to a less pleasant experience for players because custom Humanoids aren’t as tried and tested as the real thing. Moving the 80% to Lua allows developers to tweak Humanoids to suit their needs without resorting to hacks or custom Humanoids. Since we’re only moving the 80% over, there should be no performance loss, as the most performance-intensive features are still running on the C side.

109 Likes

This would be so helpful to edit, I have a really hacky walkaround setup for this and even then what I have currently seems low quality.

7 Likes

I agree, however there are some issues with this that are pretty difficult to solve and re-writing all the Humanoid logic is difficult enough in itself.