Any better way of saving large amounts of Data

I have been scripting for a few years now, and have constantly used DataStores, however I am unsure as to if there is a better way of storing data. Most of the data I need to store is names of items players have purchased, like vehicles, firearms, etc.

So far I have been doing this all in lists, using arrays to store multiple values to 1 data store, however I have recently needed to store more data, that all falls under the same category, i.e. vehicle colour, vehicle upgrades, etc, and I am wondering if there is a better way to do it rather than using multiple data stores.

Here is an example of the many data stores I use for different data:

local CashDataStore = game:GetService("DataStoreService"):GetDataStore("SharpShooter2CashDataStore632")
local PlayerMetadata = game:GetService("DataStoreService"):GetDataStore("SharpShooter2PlayerMetadataStore633")
local WeaponsData = game:GetService("DataStoreService"):GetDataStore("ShapShooterWeaponsPurchases634")
local Cosmetics_Skins = game:GetService("DataStoreService"):GetDataStore("SharpShooterCosmeticsSkins635")
local Cosmetics_Weapons = game:GetService("DataStoreService"):GetDataStore("SharpShooterCosmeticsWeapons635")

I feel like there is a better and more efficient way of doing this, hence why I am asking for second opinions.

1 Like

Why don’t you do something like mysql? Mysql has a database with tables in it. So you could just use 1 data store and its value is something like:

• Players

• Player1
    • Player2
  • Weapons

• Ak

You can even try to have more in-depth detail on the players, in mysql I use a JSON value which allows me to give even more info:

• Players
    • Player1
      • Weapons
    • Player2

Of course, for you all these values are tables.