Can I have help with carefully cutting strings?

I have been working on a custom chat for the last week or so. I managed to get most of it done. However, I have it that is the player chats something that is long it will wrap into another TextLabel. There is a problem with this though.

If I use string.sub to cut the strings to put in the separate chat TextLabel it cuts the string off at inconvenient places. Like this

Hi there, the pro
blem with my ch
at is it is way har
der to read whe
n cut up like thi
s.

I would much rather have it like this:

Hi there, it
would be a
lot better with
my chat cut
up like this.

So what I need is a function that carefully cuts a string at space but is still short enough to fit in my text label. So I did some stretches and spent a few hours making the most complex masterpiece I ever made(because I am not a pro coder) that would return a number that would be the best place to cut that string:

local function carefulCutCor(msg,i,j,front,maxSize)–msg is the fuul msg that will be searched:
–i number of the beginin of the chuck that will be searched for space cut convinient:
–j number of the end of the chuck that will be searched for space cut convinient :
–front wether the space’s should be rounded in the start of the msg or the end :
–maxSize the maximium size of what the string will be if rounded to nearest space
if string.find(msg," ") ~= nil then – wether the msg has no space to round to
local openSpace – the varible of the position of the space

if front then -- whether the space's should be rounded in the start of the msg or the end
		openSpace = i -- if its in the front then the number of the beginning of the chuck( the one that will be searched for space cut convinient) is the openSpace so far
		while string.sub(msg,openSpace,openSpace) ~= " " do -- while the openspace is not a space then keep seardhing up
			openSpace = openSpace + 1
		end