Character Movement Broken Down in "Movement States"

First of all, I want to make it very clear that I am a beginner with little experience with Roblox Lua. Lua itself is not an issue for me, that I’ve gotten through already.

As a beginner, I’m still on the “starting low” process, of course. So being a huge fan of movement in games, I’m hoping that a movement system is simple enough for me to figure out and script “by myself” (me, the DevForum and API). Specially if I plan on “improving” Roblox default movement.

What I was thinking about is breaking movement down in multiple states (walking, sprinting, jumping, and so on), and having a better way of handling the player speed, as simply using the Humanoid’s WalkSpeed value doesn’t seem that practical for a game in which, for example, the player can get faster and faster from practice/training/progression, while each state will have a different speed, such as the player being faster while sprinting when compared to walking.

Few examples of how certain games deal with movement;

• "Mighty Omega"

Players have two different states for running; jogging, that conserves Stamina at the cost of speed, and sprinting, consuming more Stamina while also running at their max speed. Players can also increase their overall running speed in-game via training.

• "Grand Piece Online"

Players can walk and run at fixed speed. While blocking, their movement is slowed down, and with certain “powers”, they can Fly at speeds much different than their “grounded movement”.

• "Zenkai Origins"

Players have multiple states of movement; walking, sprinting, floating, flying, and “boost flying”. Each one at very different speeds, those which can be increase from stat points and using “temporary power boosts”.

• "Parkour"