[CLOSED] Nametag Assistance

Details:
I want to make a nametag for my Army that looks like the following:
NavalFreezing, President of the United States
[OCS] - [FA] - [ASF]
Or something near like that.
I also want it to be able to customize how the ranks are inputted, for example like a table. But also to be able to put what divisions go onto the nametag.

Anybody know how to do this? Drop down a script or tutorial. And also to clarify I don’t mean a nametag that only projects 1 group. I’m talking about a nametag that projects many groups.

There’s a few things in this tutorial I would personally do differently, but this should be a good starting point:

1st, this isn’t a place for people to give you code this is a place for people to help you code. Secondly, I am still new to scripting but personally I think the way I would do this is just use modules to relay the groups and their ranks, then use a main script to figure out what groups they are in and display the group they have the highest rank in.

once again i am not a professional scripter.

i made a tutuorial on how to make one 4 months ago, u should check it out;

model;
https://www.roblox.com/library/6657186017/nameTag-Script

1 Like

Create a BillboardGui, call it “OverheadUI” or something.

Create an UI and add the text labels for name, display name, etc, whatever you want.

Store it on ServerStorage somewhere.

Have a script, inside this script you will have a table which is an array with other tables which are dictionaries inside them, something like this:

local Ranks = {
    {
        Color = Color3.fromRGB(175, 0, 255),
        AllowedUserIds = {123456679}
    }
}

Handle the code for player joining and .CharacterAdded.

Inside the OnCharacterAdded handler, you will have to get the rank that person belongs to.
You do that this way:

local rank = nil
for _, rankData in ipairs(Ranks) do
    if table.find(rankData.AllowedUserIds, player.UserId) then
        rank = rankData
    end
end