DataStores2 Not Saving When Game Crashes or Shuts down

I’m just going to get straight into whats going on.

My issue is that DataStores2 is not saving when the game shuts down or when a player crashes, yet it saves when I leave the server and rejoin which is super confusing.

I’m new to DataStores2 since I’ve started learning them about 2 or 3 days ago, I’ve also watch a few tutorials. I have asked for help on my issue about 4 times and nobody knows what the problem is, and as a last resort I’m asking help on the dev forums.
When I say nobody knows what the issue is, I mean literally nobody knows.

Here is my code:

local dataStore2 = require(1936396537)
local defaultCash = 0
game.Players.PlayerAdded:Connect(function(plr)
    local pointsDataStore = dataStore2("points",plr)
    local leaderstats = Instance.new("Folder",plr)
    leaderstats.Name = "leaderstats"
    local points = Instance.new("IntValue",leaderstats)
    points.Name = "Points"
    local function pointsUpdate(updateValue)
        points.Value = pointsDataStore:Get(updateValue)
    end
    pointsUpdate(defaultCash)
    pointsDataStore:OnUpdate(pointsUpdate)

end)

First impressions about using DataStores2 from this alone is not good and I’m already considering going back to normal DataStores, I hope somebody knows the answer to my problem.
Id also like to say thanks in advance for anybody who spends any time trying to help me.

3 Likes

This looks like the code from @Alvin_Blox’s video about Datastore2. Whenever he makes a video, it is most likely that there wouldn’t be any errors.

Please give more information, a video should help.

My only guess is that you are expecting the Datastore to work in studio, which it doesn’t, really. And, are you sure you have changed the data?

1 Like

I’ve tested datastores2 in normal servers many times and like I’ve said before that datastores2 only saves when you leave the game, not when you disconnect or when the server shuts down.