Getting data from an OOP Object w/o making a new object?

Sorry if anything is badly explained or if I used the wrong terms. I’m not experienced in this style of programming so I’m trying to ease into it with this!

Pretty much, I’m wondering how I can fetch data from a pre-existing OOP Object (from another script), without creating a new Object completely ruining the system + game.

Here’s some placeholder code, and afterwards I’ll tell you about my issues with it.

local Module = {}

function Module.new(player)
    local self = setmetatable({}, {__index = Module})

self.PlayerData = {}
    return self
end)

return Module

So, if I went to a script and did the following;

local PlayerData = require(script.PlayerData)

game.Players.PlayerAdded:Connect(function(plr)
    local  Data = PlayerData.new(plr)
    data.Coins = 10
end)

…it’d work. I can change it as much as I’d like within that function, however if I wanted to retrieve the above PlayerData from another script, I couldn’t. Anytime I’d do local Data = PlayerData.new(plr) in a new script it’d just make a duplicate which I do not want. I’ve tried making a get function, but I haven’t figured out how to get self from it because simply going;

local Module = {}

function Module:Get()
    return self.PlayerData
end)

self.PlayerData = {}
    return self
end)

return Module

…doesn’t return because It just doesn’t work AFAIK. I’ve tried making an “AllPlayerData” table in the script, and while it technically works, it doesn’t update when I do data.Coins = 10, which is the entire reason for me structuring it this way. Thanks for anyone who can help!

I recommend using folders on players objects, because modules are hard to use if you arent familiar with the modules.

If you need an explanation why this doesnt work, ask me.

1 Like