Getting multiple values from a datastore?

Very rookie mistake but this is my first time using datastores and I wanted to get multiple values from a datastore. I’m setting the datastore like this:

currencyDataStore:SetAsync(player.UserId.."-currency", player.leaderstats.Kills.Value, player.leaderstats["Dream Tokens"].Value)

and getting it like this:

local data = currencyDataStore:GetAsync(player.UserId.."-currency")

kills.Value = data[0] -- lines with errror
kills.Value = data[1]

I get this error: ServerScriptService.CurrencyData:29: attempt to index nil with number

I know I’m doing something wrong but I can’t find any good fixes so umm, please comment if you know. Thanks!

Indexes in roblox start at 1, not 0, so you’ll have to do data[1] and data[2]

Hi! Yes, pretty close. Best to put the stuff you want to save in a table, and save the table!

Best to make sure the keys are all strings, and ofc that the values in the table are strings/numbers/bools etc, in any case not object references (because data stores won’t be able to save them).

plrData = {
  kills = player.leaderstats.Kills.Value,
  tokens = player.leaderstats["Dream Tokens"].Value,
}
currencyDataStore:SetAsync(player.UserId.."-currency", plrData)

Giving a name to each saved item is better than a number. Also because if a number is missing it breaks the save. Be sure to wrap it all in a pcall, because datastore commands can sometimes fail! :slight_smile:

1 Like

This actually really helped but how would i get the list of data? If i get async, will it retun the table?

It says attempt to index nil with number, andwhat this line returns can be nil. Consider checking if the data exists and creating starting data.

1 Like

Yep! As @myaltaccountsthis points out:

local function getDefaultData()
  return {kills = 0, tokens = 0,}
end

local success, errorMessage = pcall(function()
  return currencyDataStore:GetAsync(player.UserId.."-currency") 
end)

if success then