GFX Artist Critque

Hi! I am new to the DevForum! I am a commonly used GFX Artist, and I would love some critique! :slight_smile:

12 Likes

Suggestions:

Use HDRIs
Your backgrounds are so bright and vibrant, and there is nothing wrong about this. But that background \has no effect on your character. Take an HDRI of the background (search this up if you need help) and use it.

The First One
Well put together, but bland and boring. Add some vibrancy into that. Maybe add some sun rays, more exposure, add a more expressive color grade. The edges are a bit to crisp and sharp, maybe add a slight blur to the edges with a blur brush. Or try to smudge it a little with the background to make it look like the light of your background is peaking through the edges of the characters (more realistic). Add some light form the background leaking through the edges of your character with some effects and painting.

The Second One
Make the character bigger. Your background and character is fighting for the spot of which going to be the focus point. And apply the same tips from the first and second paragraph.

10 Likes

I use blender for all of my products(renders), and I use paint.net for my products(editing/putting together).

I have to reason to buy photoshop or C4D. Would those be in the Blender/Photoshop?

2 Likes

Hey Fontzi,

First of all welcome to the DevForums, glad that you joined us. Alright Iā€™m going to get straight into the point of this topic. First of all your GFX looks alright. It really isnā€™t bad at all.
Hereā€™s some noticeable improvements you could add:

• Changing the Text Font