Help with this rudimentary script

I am a complete beginner to scripting. I’ve been learning from tutorials and the such, and using other’s scripts to make my own.
It’s not so much an issue but rather a query as to why hit.Parent works in this script, and what it even refers to, since hit is the function in this case.

script.Parent.Touched:Connect(function(hit)
		if game.Players:GetPlayerFromCharacter(hit.Parent) then
			hit.Parent.Humanoid.Health = 0

end
	end)

The script itself is pretty self explanatory, as it kills anyone who steps on it.

2 Likes

When the .Touched function fires, it returns the object that touched it. In this case, you’re naming that variable hit when it gets passed into the function as a parameter.

We can access hit.Parent because we are being passed the reference to the object that touched it, it’s as if you did workspace.PlayerName.LeftLeg.

You can access all the properties, along with setting things and doing anything to it. It’s just a variable with reference to the Part object that touched the Part you’ve got your .Touched event hooked to.

1 Like

So basically the variable “hit” is the object that touched the thing with this script in it, then you need to find hit.Parent.Humanoid because if we just tried to make hit.Humanoid it would return nil.

Better explanation:

leftFoot(hit).Character(hit’s Parent).Humanoid(The Humanoid in the character)
leftFoot(hit).Humanoid oh wait that wont work send an error message REEEEEE
game.Worksapce.Part.Script line 3: Humanoid is not a valid member of leftFoot

1 Like

Thanks. That actually makes sense. I think I’m still confused about the status of the variable in terms of functions, though. I never actually really defined ‘hit’, how does the script know that it refers to the player’s body parts? Sorry for my complete ineptitude.

As @MrLonely1221 and @Johnnyfireball123 said, the hit object is the object that hit it, so it should look something like this: