Help with UpdateASync()

Hi! Once again I am experiencing a few failures with my DataStore script once in a while (it won’t save properly). I have always been using SetASync() when updating a player’s stats, and so from now on I have heard that UpdateASync() may be the solution. Altough I have never used this technique before, so I am kinda uncertain on how it works, even after reading on the Developer Site. Anyways, here is my code so far, and it keeps printing “Failed saving” every time:

while true do
	for _,v in pairs(game:GetService("Players"):GetChildren()) do
		-- Saving:
		local key = "player-" .. v.UserId
		local playerStatsToSave = {v:WaitForChild("leaderstats"):WaitForChild("Rescues").Value, v:WaitForChild("leaderstats"):WaitForChild("Tokens").Value}
		local success, err = pcall(function()
			return stats:UpdateAsync(key, playerStatsToSave)
		end)
		if success then
			print("Successfully saved stats for " .. key)
		else
			print("Failed saving")
		end
    end
	wait(10)
end
1 Like

It’d be helpful to have the error you’re recieving. If you could get it to print the error returned from the pcall function and post it here, that’d be a great help to diagnosing the issue you’re facing.

From this it looks like you’re within the UpdateAsync limits, but are you using data stores anywhere else?

1 Like

Aaah right, it says “Unable to cast value to function”, and this is the only script in the game, it’s just a testing game for DataStore

Pcalls are lovely in the way that they return the error as a string as the second result if a call fails. Use that to your advantage.

local success, result = pcall(stats.UpdateAsync, stats, key, playerStatsToSave)

if success then
    print("Save success!")
else
    warn("Save failure:", result)
end