How can I keep up?

So I’m pretty new to building for games. I am currently a CAD student in college so I’ve designed some real life objects and buildings. So I’m not entirely new to design. But I just got hired as one of the builders for a dev team with just about a week or so experience in studio and blender.

The problem: I’m slow. I’m not sure how to set a good work flow to keep up. The dev team is nice and understanding but I don’t want to be a waste of time. They teach some but mostly I’m learning on my own and what I can do in 2 hours they can do in a half or in one. I watch tutorials. And read the forum daily but feel like I will fall behind. Anyway I can keep myself valuable as I get up to speed?

2 Likes

First of all, be honest with your team. If you can’t do the job it will be less harmful if you tell them so.

A schedule is an extremely useful tool that have been helping me since ages ago. It is now bad to have a good organization.

Fortunately they are very lax. And let me go at my own pace as long as I make progress. I just want to stay a contributing member and not become obsolete because some other developer that comes along can do their work plus my own. So I guess I kinda want to speed train myself up to par. Though my boss has said not to stress myself, I take this seriously as a job.

1 Like

Yeah just be honest and put ina decent amount of practice into the applications your using. I find you only need to master a few different elements at first to create a game, and from there you can grow a lot faster. Roblox is a very simple platform to create on, especially after experience with cad.

Yes that has been to my advantage since with learning blender and studio simultaneously because they are relatively simple compared to cad.