How long does it take to be a great programmer?

I’ve been on Roblox for 2 years and I want to know how long does it take to be a great programmer, the question for you guys is how hard is programming? Did you have to practice everyday?

In my opinion I believe that Lua is the easiest programming language I’ve seen but is it really hard when you pass the basics of it?

Thanks for reading and hopefully I could be able to meet and talk to trained programmers and how their journey came into a successful one.

15 Likes

Well like all things, it takes dedication, practice, and time. The time it takes however is up to you, your personal schedule and countless factors.

3 Likes

It really depends on how much time you put it, whether you know other languages, etc. There’s a ton of factors that weigh in on how long it will take, so just keep at it.

2 Likes

But how did you get motivated to continue programming?

1 Like

I’ve been developing (programming mainly) for about 5-7 years and the best advice I can give is to keep learning. Every time you don’t understand something, google it. There’s a lot of information out there to learn.

For a start try:

• CFrame’s
  • Vectors
  • Linear Algebra
  • New Programming Languages
  • Perhaps a Programming Course

…and many more!

7 Likes

Well, it’s not really time that makes you great. It’s the willingness to learn and dedication you put in it. For instance, I like experimenting in Studio at least once a week. It’s really based on what you want to achieve in this platform, and how willing and adamant you are to stick your head in and stay in until you get something out of it.

I have been programming for over 8 years, yet I don’t think I’m a “master”. I know people who mastered Lua in 3 months. Yes, crazy, but it’s true. There is no race to be won. You have all the time in the world.

8 Likes