How to check if a player is currently following another player(if its even possible)?

Ok, so I am new to scripting, and i am trying to make a custom playerlist and i’ve run into a wall with it as of now. Im trying to find out how to check if a player is following another player. I checked the article about social SetCores and GetCores within this article New SetCore Methods for prompting social actions .
Basically, i just want someone to tell me what function it is to check if a player is following another player if there is any. Any help would be appreciated!

2 Likes

I assume you mean followers on the website. There are some previous posts about this.

http://api.roblox.com/docs#Friends

This one seems to have a tutorial:

At the moment, in-engine social APIs do not have any kind of support whatsoever for followers. You will have to, as the above thread outlined, use either web endpoints or a proxy for API requests that facilitates this (e.g. rprxy.xyz - you make a call to the Roblox API but replace roblox.com with rprxy.xyz).

5 Likes

Alright thank you for the help!

1 Like

How would that code actually look like?

1 Like

There’s actually a property that does this for you. Should look something like this when used:

-- In a localscript
local Player = game.Players.LocalPlayer
game.Players.PlayerAdded:Connect(function(otherPlayer)
    if otherPlayer.FollowUserId == Player.UserId then
       -- OtherPlayer followed Player
    end
end)

While @PostApproval 's method does work, I’m not too keen on sending HTTP GET requests to proxy servers when the functionality is provided for you.

4 Likes

FollowUserId is used to determine if a player followed another player into a game from the website. It’s not what OP is looking for, which is to determine if the social relationship between two players is following. Roblox does not support this natively through any engine API, an HTTP request is required.