How to disable a running script?

So I’m working on a new game and i made a gui button to disable an other running script, by clicking it.
it marks the script as disabled, but the script won’t stop. i need a urgent help please.

here’s the code
(Keep in mind i’m not a scripting professional i’m just a noob so yea don’t judge me about the bad coding skills ;()

local ScreenGui = script.Parent

local TextButton = ScreenGui.TextButton

TextButton.MouseButton1Up:Connect(function()

game.StarterGui.Main.LocalScript.Disabled = true

wait()

end
2 Likes

I added the end) it still won’t work. idk why.

Instead of disabling it on the starter gui, just disable it on the playergui (not sure but its worth a try |:)

2 Likes

I’m not sure what you mean by that :confused:

Is main a gui??? 30charrrrrrrrr

I don’t know why you are making a new thread when there is one to explain your question. Script.Disabled = true BUT it's still running?!

I don’t know, maybe I haven’t seen this?

I don’t know. Maybe you should try look for the answer? Is it that hard to search up your problem into your bowser that you have to make a whole new thread? Only if you can’t find the answer anywhere then you should make a thread but there is no reason to make a post when there are plenty of answers on the internet…

If you come out to answer my question it’s fine but don’t answer if you’re not about to help,

is the script parented to gui?

Im helping you because i’m redirecting you to a thread that had been made to answer your question. Just because you are lazy and can’t look up your issue on the internet its not my problem.

This is the correct solution.

game.StarterGui is only a source container from which items will be cloned locally into game.Players.LocalPlayer.PlayerGui

Replace your line

game.StarterGui.Main.LocalScript.Disabled = true

with

game.Players.LocalPlayer.PlayerGui.Main.LocalScript.Disabled = true