How to make a fun game that is fulfilling, and have players coming back for more!

Disclaimer
I am by no means an expert on this topic, but hey if I can help somebody out there then thats enough for me

Introduction
Everytime I go on #help-and-feedback:game-design-support , there is always a post along the lines of “how do i get players to stay and come back for more”, or "tips to make players return to my game", and not to mention those posts asking for feedback on their game ideas that are mediocre at best. yeah you know who you are

But anyway, What makes a game fun? Well that must be just the millionaire dollar question because every player has different perspectives of what is fun in a particular game and what isn’t, all we can do as game developers is interpret what we think the player would see as fun, and implement different gameplay aspects around that idea. This is why games need constant feedback and heavy testing in the early development phase because if you dont get the foundation that makes your game “fun” correct, how the hell do you expect to build upon a broken foundation? Yeah you may be able to build on-top of it, but how long until the clutter that you have created to hide the fact that you have a lacking foundation finally catches up with your game? Trust me players can see when you have a lacking foundation.

In order to fulfill a player they need to have something missing that only your game can offer/provide, this is exactly why two games of the same genre can look the same at face value but when you actually take a look at the guts of the games, they both are completely different and both fulfill the player differently. What sets apart games of the same genre isn’t what you do in them, it’s how you do it. Let’s look at an example scenario, let’s just say they are both fighting games and both have the same fundamental mechanics but do them differently