How to use metatables?

Hello devforum people

So I dont understand the concept of metatables, and I want to learn more. I’ve tried watching every video but I can’t seem to describe what it actully dose.

What do I want to achieve?

I want to see if I can use metatables in my new admin commands. But I just don’t understand.

What are SOOO special about metatables?

So this is something that I feel many developers rush into and feel that metatables will unlock the secret sauce of Lua and that there code will just do everything and anything they want it to do but this isn’t the case. However there are some really cool things that you can do with metatables with that being said, but what i am trying to say is metatables is no golden ticket for everything you write. Now with that said i am no expert in the department of metatables so I am going to give you my interpretation of what they do.

Metatables are pretty much a group of methods and functions that can be attached to a table that will alter their functionality to allow you to add different methods and other things which makes doing things given the right circumstances much easier. For example Object Oriented Lua, Metatables makes doing this much easier and neater.

Now I mentioned that you can “alter the functionality of a table or some object” what I mean by this is you can change it’s properties and how it interacts and behaves with the input you give it. I will provide you with some examples here.

For my lighting system I used the __len metamethod which means when you attempt to get the length of something with a metatable with it it’ll return what you have it return in the function.

Group.__len = function(self)
	return (#self.GroupedFixtures)
end

So I have it returning the length of one of the tables in the object. This is an example of altering how the code interacts with the input.