How would you get the username of who called a remote?

I’m using a TextButton to call a remote. I’m wondering how i would get the username of who clicked the button sent with the remote as a value to be used in a global script.
I’m new to using remotes because I’ve never really had to use them before.

Here’s the script i’m currently using to call it:

script.parent.MouseButton1Click:Connect(function()
	local rs = game:GetService("ReplicatedStorage")
	local event = rs:FindFirstChild("Reset")
	event:FireServer()
end)

Thank you!

When you connect the server event to a function, the first argument should always be the player. You can use player.Name.

function blah(player)
    local playerName = player.Name
end
event.OnServerEvent:Connect(blah)
5 Likes

Thank you! I’ll try a few things out and see what happens.

When you connect to the server event does it have to be the function name or can it be something like player?

Whatever follows :Connect should (and I think has to be?) a function. If you didn’t want to make one like the above, you could just do

event.OnServerEvent:Connect(function(player)    stuff here    end)

Oh I see. I misunderstood and completely didn’t see that it was calling the function. Sorry about that lol

Alright so that totally worked like i wanted it to! Awesome. If you don’t mind me asking, is there a simpler substitute for using something like workspace[""..plr..""].Torso when trying to use a string or object value?

workspace[player.Name] should work, and if not, workspace:FindFirstChild(player.Name)

1 Like

Thank you so much! It’s really annoying to type so many quotation marks and periods.

This is a classic XY problem.