I need help on scripting this

I have no experience in scripting and have little idea how to make something like this.
my plan is when the player answers yes to a question from a npc, (using the dialog system)

Capture
(not sure why i added this)

a transparent wall will delete itself and let the player go through a door.
any idea how i would do this?

I don’t think you can do this with Dialog instances, you would have to make a new system from scratch

1 Like

I kinda have a thought what it would be:

local players = game.Players:GetPlayers()
if player.userdialog = yes then
game.workspace.invisiblewall.Transparent = 1

I know this code won’t work, but its a start.

oops lol I meant

local player = game.Player:GetPlayer()
if player.userdialog.yes then
	game.workspace.invisiblewall.CanCollide = false
end```
local DialogLocation = nil --Define Dialog Location here
local UnveilingDialogOption = nil --Define the Location of the DialogChoice that would open a wall or whatever you want it to do.

DialogLocation.DialogChoiceSelected:connect(function(Plr, DialogOption)
	if DialogOption == UnveilingDialogOption then
		--Do stuff here, such as remove the wall or whatever you want it to do. 
		--You can also make it do certain things specifically for the player by utilizing the Plr variable.
		--If you want the wall to be removed/whatever other changes to effect that player ONLY, put this in a LocalScript.
	end
end)

Oh sorry nvm then I didn’t know there was a way to do that with dialog lol my bad

And here is a link to the event in the documentation

https://developer.roblox.com/en-us/api-reference/event/Dialog/DialogChoiceSelected

2 Likes

thanks!

character limit text thing

kinda dumb question, but where can i find what the plr is?
my edited script

local DialogLocation = game.Workspace.shopkeeper.Head.Dialog --Define Dialog Location here