I started learning how to code and made a script. What do you think?

I just started learning how to script with Lua yesterday, and I made a fun script in my free time.

> Script

game.Workspace.Part.BrickColor = BrickColor.new("Really red") -- Allows you to change the color of the brick.
        wait(5) -- Allows you to wait for a certain amount of time.
        game.Workspace.Part.BrickColor = BrickColor.new("Baby blue") -- Once the wait command is finished being executed, line 3 will be executed.
        wait(5) -- The same effect as line 2, except once you're done waiting, it won't execute line 3 again. It will execute line 5.
        game.Workspace.Part.Anchored = false -- Part from the Workspace is already anchored once you join the game, but once line 5 is executed, Part's "Anchored" properties will be set to false.
        wait(5)
        game.Workspace.Part.BrickColor = BrickColor.new("Alder") -- From this point, the Part's BrickColor properties are just changing colors every 1/10 of a second.
        wait(0.1)
        game.Workspace.Part.BrickColor = BrickColor.new("Artichoke")
        wait(0.1)
        game.Workspace.Part.BrickColor = BrickColor.new("Baby blue")
        wait(0.1)
        game.Workspace.Part.BrickColor = BrickColor.new("Cadet blue")
        wait(5)
        game.Workspace.Part.BrickColor = BrickColor.new("Really black") -- Once line 15 is executed, there will be no other line to execute. Therefore, the code is finished/complete once it reaches line 15.

> Video of what it does

code.mp4

The script allows the program to manipulate the properties of a Part.
Thanks to AlvinBlox for the scripting tutorials!

3 Likes

You need to give us access to the video all i see is

3 Likes

Oops. I’ll fix that! Thanks for letting me know.

1 Like

I fixed it. I think you can now watch it.

This is a great start!
I’d suggest learning how to use local next, to shorten your code so you aren’t writing the same long lines repeatly.
For exmaple, you can change