Importing cars to roblox

Hello All,

I am a first time dev, and as such there are a lot of things I don’t/didn’t know while developing my game. I hired freelancers to creat a lot of my game. One of these aspects was the vehicles. I paid someone on Fiver to “import cars to roblox”, I then paid someone else to redo the chassis and everything to work on mobile and such. Anyway, the longer I have done this the more I realized that maybe this guy that imported these vehicles may have took them from someone else? Obviously, my game is not yet released and I don’t want to use content I am not authorized to use. Is there a way to find who originally created the vehicles from the models? Is importing vehicles into games a common practice? I just want to confirm I’m not using unauthorized models and pay for them from the original owner if that is what happened. Any thoughts?

2 Likes

get the mesh id and go to roblox.com/library/id and that could give you the creator of the mesh, i mean for sure someone could upload it as their own, but as a precaution you could check there

Well these freelancers on fiver I believe are importing them from other websites (non roblox). Is that common? Or is that a no no?

Regardless of where you purchased these models, unless the person you purchased from stated they were original models and/or this was implied, you’d still be liable as you should have done your due dilligence. Importing meshes to roblox is as simple as a drag and drop, the difficult part is creating models - you should have hired a 3d modelling freelance from Fiverr.

I would highly recommend you consult the artist that you paid on Fiverr and ask if they created the models. If they didn’t, request a refund from Fiverr if it was implied in the contract.

If it wasn’t implied in the contract, I would recommend not using said assets unless you want to get DMCA’d by a plaintiff.