Instances being deleted and unable to undo.

I’ve experienced this problem probably 10 different times over the past few months where I accidentally delete something from the Explorer, try to undo it, and it is completely wiped from existence - like its erased from the undo and is unrecoverable. (Using ctrl+shift+Z, ctrl+Z, and using the buttons at the top)

This just lost me about two hours of building because I deleted a folder and, tried to undo, and it just ate the input and acts like that folder was never there in the first place. This is only really a problem if you don’t save for a while (oops) but has been a repetitive problem to me causing various different amounts of damage.

This problem has only happened to me using Parts, groups, and folders in the workspace. It likely exists throughout all classes like ReplicatedStorage, etc. My theory is that it has something to do with having a large amount of objects in a folder or group and studio being unable to reload it or something.

22 Likes

I can confirm I’m having this issue as well, but don’t have any way of reliably causing it to happen. It seems to happen if it’s been a while since any of the affected instances have been changed

3 Likes

Yes, also encountered this. Very frustrating. Only experienced this since switching over to the new Roblox Studio UI. Don’t know if that’s related or not.

5 Likes

Stop using f3x. Solution ok charrrrrr

1 Like

This is happening to me as well.

3 Likes

Encountered this multiple times today

3 Likes

This also frequently happens to me. I have to open an older version and copy the instance out of there to recover it because Undo doesn’t have any memory of the instance ever existing (either via the keyboard shortcut or the edit > undo)

I think it usually happens when I have a script open, then I select something in explorer, and press my delete key (often because I’m trying to delete text in a script but accidentally had the explorer selection as the active window)

I know it’s happened to me when I’m using Windows 11, I’ll try to pay attention if it also happens to me on Mac and update this post

1 Like

Happens to me all the time sadly. I’ve experienced numerous problems with these new updates to studio. But when I cry out to hold these forced updates until all their problems are fixed, people try and say “ahhh you against change! you’re scared of change!” but in reality this is what it’s all about.

1 Like

Been experiencing this on the old studio layout, so I don’t think its limited to just the new one.

Really scary to be honest, glad nothing I’ve deleted thus far has been like SUPER important but it’s only a matter of time which is frightening.

2 Likes

I think there are underlying changes in code in the old studio layout that is from the new, they just don’t show it. A-lot of things are starting to operate differently and I am still using the old layout as long as I can :folded_hands:t5:. Undo-redo is one of them, this new and annoying publish notification, the Find All/Replace All, the new Explorer, etc.

1 Like

I’m experiencing this same issue and I don’t use F3X, I only use the base roblox tools (select, move, scale, etc).

1 Like

Also been experiencing this issue for a while, undoing with the hotkey (ctrl+z) - unsure if it also happens manually clicking the undo button.

2 Likes

This bug is still amassing victims! SOS!!

2 Likes

worst thing that’s ever happened to me. just got rid of 8+ hours of work cuz it was saved on local file. thanks a lot. i expect a $1000 check in the mail very soon from roblox hq

2 Likes

Hi,

Thank you for the report. Losing work is very frustrating. We know the root cause of this, but we haven’t come up with a solution yet, as it involves our plugin ecosystem and API surfaces.

A rogue plugin can cause ChangeHistoryService: TryBeginRecording() and then never finish the recording.

Technically all other plugins are suppose to coordinate and block execution if they can’t get a recording, but no one does this because it makes the individual plugin feel bad. So instead the change history service just says broken underneath.

Fortunately, Roblox auto-saves while in team create, so you can always check your history there.

Anyway, keep tuned, and thank you for the report. We’ll see what we can do.

I dont use F3X. I just lost 2 hours of progress on a build with folders for a game. This post was made in 2025 and it is radio silent. They’re making all these unneccesary changes to UI as beta features, but not fixing bugs like this??

1 Like