"Join" button not accessible for users with the new UI despite privacy settings being set to "Everyone"

When attempting to join a user while having the new profile UI, it doesn’t show the “Join” button anymore when not having eachother added and having the privacy settings set to “Everyone”:

Behavior on different accounts with the old UI:

Settings set:

This occoured on browser on Chrome 141 on Windows 11 but also on several browsers without extensions enabled

Expected behavior

I expect the “Join” button to show even when not having eachother added as a connection and having the privacy settings set to “Everyone”

7 Likes

Thanks for the report! I’ll look into this :saluting_face:

2 Likes

@Soundmoji Should be fixed now! Lmk if there are any more issues

2 Likes

Hi!

Thanks for the quick fix. I can confirm the join button is now back. However, i noticed that the “Chat” button now appears despite not having the other user added but when having permission to join the user

Clicking the chat button itself does no change to the page but does give a 403 error on network
image


Looking into it a bit more, i noticed the chat button also shows if you can’t interact with the person via chat (atleast one user has party chat set to nobody) but have them added
image

{
    "error": "Attempt to create conversations where one or more users has chat disabled",
    "reason_code": "participant_chat_disabled"
}

However this could also be a seperate bug report considering the chat button also shows without the join button i just noticed

3 Likes

My bad, that was caused by the earlier fix. Now everything should be working as expected :crossed_fingers:

3 Likes

Thank you! I confirm the chat button is now correctly replaced with the add button

On side note, i noticed that the chat button doesn’t do anything if you have the other person added and haven’t chatted before but they have chat disabled, but i can also file this in a seperate ticket now since the original join issue has been fixed

1 Like

This topic was automatically closed 14 days after the last reply. New replies are no longer allowed.