Hey staff, it’s been two weeks and I still haven’t gotten a response to my question.. Is adding custom RGB role colors in mind for this update? It would be really nice to have the ability to assign custom RGB role colors as it would allow us to dynamically adjust role group colors used for things such as group badges in-game.
Hey, we saw your comment and brought it up internally, but custom RGB will not ship as part of unification. It requires significant consideration for light/dark mode for accessibility so the current product uses a fixed set of role colors that are known to work well across light/dark mode surfaces.
I automatically unified one of my groups yesterday and by doing so, for some reason 2 Developer roles were created and 99+ members had gained edit access and valuable permissions to my group and games… I am unsure if it was a problem on my end or maybe my roles were setup in a weird way that confused the system. But this caused me a lot of stress yesterday and I didn’t even notice until 5 hours after. So god knows how many people were able to access all my games and assets during those 5 hours.
Thanks for raising the issue in private messages! There was an extremely rare caching issue that affected a handful of specific groups where the wrong role was considered as the “lowest role” for a couple of hours after unification. We have mitigated the issue. Thanks CrazyCorrs for helping us debug and resolve it.
Thanks everyone who opted in their groups early before the Oct 5 deadline. We are starting the migration to move all groups to the unified roles & permissions screen. This migration will take a couple of business days to complete. We will update here once it is done.
All of the important permissions on my group’s roles (set on Roblox.com) have just been reset? Surely this can’t be intentional.
I had some Creator Hub roles but nobody was assigned to them as far as I know.
If this applies to all groups, then “Most groups will have no breaking changes” is definitely not true, I’m pretty sure any group with these perms on for ANY role will be broken.
Hey there, can you check the first post here for some more information? We have to remove certain permissions from roles during unification to avoid group members having more access than they had before. You should be able to trivially restore them. We need you to do this yourself to acknowledge that you’re granting the right access to the right roles, given the new unified role hierarchy.
Note that we offered an opt-in period during most of September to opt in and resolve these breaking changes yourself. We’re now in the phase that we’re forcing group unification, so we need to remove these permissions.
I read the initial post fully before, yes, and it says:
If you don’t opt in by October, we’ll automatically clear kick/ban/assign-roles from Creator Hub roles before migration.
The roles with the removed permissions were not Creator Hub roles - they were created on the main Roblox website. It also says:
2. Roles sharing the same numeric rank value
[…] you can allow us to automatically delete the conflicting permissions
All of the roles had different rank values, there were no conflicting permissions.
I would restore the permissions but the group owner is the co-owner, who isn’t very active on Roblox, and all of my permissions were deleted so I can’t do it myself.
Thanks for calling this out, we’ve improved the clarity of writing in the breaking changes section:
Creator Hub roles initially sit above Community roles after migration
If a Community role has kick, ban, or role-assignment permissions and a Creator Hub role has members, those permissions can apply more broadly after migration, because these permissions act through your highest role (not based on the role where you have the permission).
Action required: during opt-in, review the merged list and reorder or remove permissions as needed. If you don’t opt in by October, we’ll automatically clear kick/ban/assign-roles from those Community roles before migration, to avoid any permission escalation issues.
If you have new kick/ban permission on a lower role, you are able to kick/ban people who have a highest role lower than your own highest role. So if there are people in any Creator Hub role, those people would gain a new highest role after group unification, hence there is an escalation issue. We need to have the group owner manually re-grant the permissions so they can assert they are fine with this, or adjust the roles and their members accordingly.
hi i have an issue with the update i lost some permissions on my roblox group regera xvii im the owner but my holder got account deleted i was using this account as the main admin on that group but i dont have my permissions is there anything i can do or fix? i was hoping this update would fix a lot of things with me losing access to the group i havent been able to do anything in a couple years ill be really thankfull if you can do anything thank you
@Hooksmith is there anything at all that can be done please? i cant do payouts or anything managing members im the highest rank second to the holder account which is account deleted
Hey, sorry to hear about that. The group owner should reach out to customer support if they have concerns about the moderation action against their account.
We do not officially support active operations like what you describe for a group with a permanently banned owner.
This situation could have been avoided by unifying during the opt-in period. At this point, we are forcing unification so must remove these permissions to avoid escalation (since some users would get a new “highest role” after unification otherwise, which could be a permission escalation the owner did not intend).