Manipulate the CurrentCamera to mirror the size and positioning of a viewport and its camera

In short I’m trying to replicate the behaviour of viewports but with the CurrentCamera while looking onto the real Workspace (and surrounded by UI elements to give the impression you’re using a ViewportFrame).

Viewports don’t support particle effects and many important lighting features hence the reason for doing this.

This is my first attempt. It mostly works but is incredibly hacky and doesn’t work perfectly across different devices and screen sizes. I’m ideally looking for a solution grounded in proper math instead of trial and error:

function CameraUtil.matchViewport(viewport, viewportCamera)
	-- This modifies and offsets the workspaceCamera so that it
	-- appears identical when overlayed with the viewport; effectively
	-- it allows us to create a mock viewport using the real workspace
	-- (by having borders around the rest of the screen). This is
	-- desirable due to current limitations with viewports (such as
	-- poorer lighting, lack of support for particle effects, etc).
	-- This function works by considering the size and position of the
	-- viewport relative to the rest of the world and screen, then manipulating
	-- the properties of the viewportCamera such as CFrame and FieldOfView.
	local framePos = viewport.AbsolutePosition
	local frameSize = viewport.AbsoluteSize
	local frameMidPos = framePos + (frameSize/2)
	local screenPos = app.AbsolutePosition
	local screenSize = app.AbsoluteSize
	local screenMidPos = screenPos + (screenSize/2)
	local xyRatio = frameSize.X / frameSize.Y
	local distanceFromCentre = screenMidPos - frameMidPos
	local yDistanceRatio = distanceFromCentre.Y / screenSize.Y
	local clampedXYRatioA = math.clamp(xyRatio, 0.8, 1.4) - 0.8
	local clampedXYRatioB = math.clamp(xyRatio, 0.6, 1.2) - 0.6
	local clampedYDisRatio = math.clamp(yDistanceRatio, 0, 0.17)
	local disRemainder = math.clamp(yDistanceRatio - clampedYDisRatio, 0, 0.25)