Metatables: Most efficient way to gain values from separate metatables

Hi

Essentially just what is in the title, I have two separate metatables in different ModuleScripts and I want to get the values of certain variables from one in the other. The best way I can think of to do this is this:

local MetatableA = {}
MetatableA.__index = MetatableA 

local MetatableB = require(script.Parent)

function MetatableA.new()
	local self = setmetatable({}, MetatableB)
end

I ideally want to pass values from A to B in real time - i.e. a renderstepped value in MetatableB would be instantly available in MetatableA. I don’t think this method would do that, just copy the initial values from MetatableB to MetatableA and leave the two to act independantly. I don’t know if what I want is possible at all. If not I can put it all in one script, I just thought this might be a bit easier for organising things.

Any help is appreciated, I’m still learning how to (properly) use metatables so I may have missed something
Thanks

1 Like

If you want to get values of certain variables from one in the other then you should be using require() since you said these are ModuleScripts

Good point, I forgot to put this on that code (wrote this pretty quickly to post on the forum). I’ve edited this now.

Not sure if this is exactly what you want, but:

local MetatableA = {}
MetatableA.__index = MetatableA 

local MetatableB = require(script.Parent)

local function givemeta(recipient, giver)
	--give MetatableA MetatableB
	setmetatable(recipient, giver)
end
givemeta(MetatableA, MetatableB)

I don’t think you can use a .new() construction operator in functions.
Attempted to reference from Metatables, but the information was a bit confusing.

Ok, interesting. I’ll try that and see if it works. Also yeah, I agree that the Metatables page is confusing, main reason I’m asking here to see if anyone knows.