My First Blender Cycles GFX - Criticism/Feedback!

This is my first ever GFX I made in blender cycles by myself completely, no tutorial. I made it as a commission and if anyone could give any feedback, it would be much appreciated! :slight_smile:

Also, I did one with the title text, but I’m not too good with text… Does anyone know any good tutorials or have any good suggestions on how to make appealing text?

13 Likes

how just how is that ur first like how is it so good teach me

3 Likes

It’s not my “First”

It’s just my first time I used Blender Cycles with the nodes and all that by myself.
I started learning it two days ago. Kid Veggito’s Tutorials, although fast-paced and hard to follow, were my absolute saviors. I copied what he did and this is my first I ever did on my own, playing around with the materials.

1 Like

damn i dont use cycles i just use blender

I highly recommend checking out his channel. The blender manual also helped along the way when I was trying to figure stuff out.

okay, thank you! . …

I think your GFX is very well done. The color palette is consistent throughout and the accessories on the character look phenomenal.

My only complaint would be that the texture of the character’s hands are inconsistent with the texture of its face, which throws me off a little bit. I’m not sure what look you are trying to achieve there; perhaps a dusty effect? From a distance, it is not as noticeable, however. Otherwise, this is great work!

Screen Shot 2020-04-08 at 1.05.29 AM

As for title texts, it vastly depends on the theme and style of GFX you are making. For this GFX, I think the font and color looks fine, though if you want to make it more animated you can consider making it have a 3D appearance, such as by adding effects like Bevel & Emboss, etc., and by adding a pattern overlay to the text that fits with the theme of your render, though I’m not sure which editing software you use.