My GUI's wont work and I need help

Hey developers of Roblox! I am fairly new to scripting and need some help with some GUI’s. I don’t know if this is obvious or not.

Basically the problem is when ever I wanna disable/enable a gui, It wont let me.

The code I use for it is this:

Lets say I am making a play button so I would do,

local play = game.StarterGui.play —the gui
local button = play.TextButton —the text button

button.MouseButton1Click:Connect(function()
play.Enabled = false
button.Visible = false
end)

Oh and by the way, there is nothing the comes up in the output. Like nothing at all.
But I remembered I have youtube! So i looked up on YouTube and saw a tutorial for a play button. It used the terms “script.Parent”

so then I remade my script like this.

local play = script.Parent.Parent – the gui
local button = script.Parent – text button

play.Enabled = false
button.Visible = false
end)

and it worked. So I was wondering what was I doing wrong in the original script? Was it the referencing or what? I am very confused and can someone please help me since it is getting hard put children in the right frames and labels to reference them properly. I would really appreciate if you help!:grin::pray:
(they were all local scripts and sorry if this was long)

It was the path. You must hook up the function to the one in PlayerGui, not StarterGui. Players only see the one in PlayerGui, which is cloned from StarterGui.

1 Like

So do I put the GUI in playerGui’s?

1 Like

No, you put the GUIs in StarterGui which will then be cloned to the clients when they join or die.

1 Like

But why did

local play = game.StarterGui.play
local button = play.TextButton

play.Enabled = false
button.Visible = false
end)

not work?
I feel stupid

Because even if the GUI is cloned to PlayerGui, it will still reference the GUI in StarterGui.

So what would the correct script be?

The latter one you displayed which uses the Parent property.

1 Like