MySQL in roblox?

Hello! I want to know a way to connect to a MySQL server on Roblox. Is there a way? And if I need to use a third party to be able to connect to the server, can you please reference a guide for it? Thanks!

1 Like

Do you own the MySQL database?

If so, you’ll need to add an HTTP server and API to it. I found this article for doing it with NodeJS which is probably easiest, but you could use any language to host. I won’t go into the details of how to host an application on the web for your game to access, because there’s lots of info online and it’s involved. I’m also not an expert in this :slight_smile:

If you don’t own the database, is there a HTTP API you can use? Or otherwise how do you make updates to it?

Either way, once you have an HTTP API you can interface with it using HttpService | Roblox Creator Documentation.

2 Likes

Thank you for answering! I have another question. I already have a MySQL Database with the IP, User, Password etc… so everything is set up. But how do I connect to it, using Roblox Lua? Can you tell me where to start?

1 Like

You can’t directly connect to the database from roblox, if that’s what you mean.

The only external connections you can make from Roblox are all HTTP (like web requests)—that’s why I talked about setting up an HTTP API interface.

So your game in Roblox would talk to that web server API (maybe it’s running on node or something) via HttpService.

Then the web server would talk to your database (because your web server can talk to MySQL). It would forward any info received back to your game over HTTP.

Check that article I linked, I think it would be a helpful way to start. NodeJS isn’t too hard to figure out if you know something like lua already.

2 Likes

I see, I am planning on using GAS Google apps script for the API, I am just worried if this Apps script is client sided because I am planning on using this as a service, many people (not only me) can connect to the database in a non-direct form