Need Help Scripting a Checkpoint System

I need a checkpoint system for my game, but the problem is that it needs to save for a part that’s controlled by a player, not a checkpoint for the player itself. The part is a sphere with a BodyForce item and a script to control it, but I can’t figure out how to save the progress when you leave and rejoin.

1 Like

Can you please explain better? It needs to save the information of the sphere?

It needs to save the location of the sphere. If you need more information about the project then I can provide it.

Yes, more information would help greatly! It sounds like what you’re going to need to do is save a table with fields for Position or CFrame and any other data you want to save along with it.

To be honest, I don’t have a lot of experience with scripting. I have a lot of experience in building, but I’m at a loss for where to start with this script. In this game, a player controls the sphere. As soon as you spawn, it allows you to control the sphere, and it uses BodyForce, not a morph or a humanoid. I know this is possible with humanoids, but what I need help with is knowing if it can be done with a player-controlled part.

Yes, that’s completely possible with a BodyMover like you originally stated. What information are you looking to save for this checkpoint system?

The only thing I need to save is the location. In the game, you progress through different levels. I want it to save each time you complete a level, so you don’t have to go through every level again if you leave the game.

In that case, you might want to save both the level and location. There’s numerous ways you could go about saving this, but here’s one way.

Have an IntValue for the current level or on the server-script have a dictionary with the different players.

When you’re going to move the sphere, fire the server with the direction you’re wanting to move and handle that on the server.

local Players = {
	['CodeSleepRepeat'] = {
		Level = 1,