Potential Improvements for Safety and Efficiency in My Remote Event

Introduction:
I am relatively new to the field of security and exploitation in remote event management. However, I have implemented several safety measures, such as a rate check to prevent DOS attacks and verification of all arguments provided by clients.

My Remote Event Explained:
I have a remote event that, when fired on the server, takes the arguments of an instance’s name, such as “Ford Pinta”, and a boolean that tells me if the car is owned or not, for example, True.

At the start, I check if the arguments are of the right class. Then, I check if the InstanceName is a correct name that can be saved. For that, I have a validation table that I will show later in my module on the server. After that, I check if the DataKey and the ItemCategory are not nil along with the ItemName (this will make sense later, I promise). Then, I check if the remote event is fired too heavily. If it is, I impose a 5-second cooldown (if you don’t find this efficient, please give me feedback).

After that, I check if the Ford Pinta is already owned. If it is, then it returns. Then, I check if I want to buy the Ford Pinta. If I do, I first check if I can even own it with my current money. If I can, then I will buy it, subtract the money, and save it to the profile.

After all these checks, I will finally save the Ford Pinta as owned.

Code Of the Remote

UpdateOwnership.OnServerEvent:Connect(function(player, InstanceName: string, InstanceState: boolean)
    local DataKey, ItemCategory = MainSaving.getDataKeyAndCategory(InstanceName)
    print(DataKey, ItemCategory)

if type(InstanceName) ~= "string" or type(InstanceState) ~= "boolean" or not InstanceState then
        warn("Invalid input types for InstanceName or InstanceState")
        return
    end
    -- Validate car and category using the provided validation table
    if not MainSaving.validCars(InstanceName, ItemCategory) then return end