Problem with math.random not giving random number

Hi, my name is shieldmr3, my main thing/job is scripting, I do some building too. I’m an expert at lighting and scripting them!

I have been using math.random a lot, I have noticed that when I make a random number using math.random, it keeps generating the same number every time, here’s an example:

local randomnumber = math.random(1, 50)

while wait() do
        print(randomnumber)
end

So when it prints, it keeps printing the same number every time.

how can this be fixed? is this a problem with my script? and if it is, then how can I fix it?

2 Likes

that is cause the variable doesnt change, if you want it to, move the variable to the while loop

while wait() do
    local randomnumber = math.random(1, 50)
    print(randomnumber)
end
6 Likes

If you store it in a variable, randomnumber will be the same number. So do

while wait() do
        print(math.random(1, 50))
end
4 Likes

Oh I get it, thank you so much!

1 Like

Thank you too! I didn’t really understand why, but now I get it. Thank you all!

2 Likes

I know everyone gave the answer, but I’ll provide anotehr way to do it

while wait() do
    local randomnumber = math.random(50)
    print(randomnumber)
end

If your minimum is 1, if you just specify a single number, it’ll pick from 1 to that specified number, in this case, a number between 1 and 50

2 Likes

Thank you, I appreciate everyone trying to help! Thank you all!

1 Like

Anytime! If you have anymore questions or issues don’t be afraid to make another post!

1 Like

I will! Thank you so much! I know my question sounded kind of a beginner but, if you need any help, just ask me, I make lots of cool things such as an animated jumpscares, here is the link if you want to see it:

I make most of the things, but I like unique things such as jumpscares, camerashake, guis (announcements gui, ban and kick, suggestion that sends it to your discord, main game screen (kind of an intro, animating, etc.)