Rewrote my mining system

Hey everyone, I rewrote my mining system and I would like to know what I should change and make better.

I’m a beginner programmer and not good at visual effects, this is code review after all.

Anyway, here’s the link, it’s an uncopylocked place: Mining System - Roblox

And yes, praiseyee is my alt.

2 Likes

Overall the code is pretty nice! I like how everything is organized and commented, I do have one criticism related to your pick-axe tool though.

I noticed that you are using a debounce on both the client and the server, I don’t personally think this is all that necessary, I would instead just use the debounce on the server side.

2 Likes

With an extra debounce on the client you avoid sending a lot of unnecessary events, and you can let the player know that their extra clicks are ignored with an effect (without lag).

2 Likes

Remote events already have a rate limit of about 50 KB/sec, and the client and server can easily de-synchronize, so it wouldn’t even really make a difference in most cases.

2 Likes

I also forgot to mention that this won’t even prevent the remotes from being fired constantly, as they can just fire the remote directly instead of calling the function

2 Likes

Then mobile users will burn through their data 50KB/secs faster!

Also remote events always arrive in order, so if one fails to send all others will have to wait A.K.A. those events will lag.

That is why you also have the server-side debounce.

But not debouncing on the client is just a waste of data, internet bandwith and server processing power (even if it’s only a little) and bad user experience

3 Likes

I would use the CollectionService for the pickaxe code, so you don’t have the same script for every player’s pickaxe.

I would also get rid of the Services, Variables, Functions, etc. comments since they are redundant.