"Save to Roblox" doesn't work correctly with "Save to File"

When I use Save to file then when I do Save to Roblox it will always output “No changes to the place detected. Did not save” even tho there is a change, I lost hours of work due to this bug

image

Here’s a video:

3 Likes

Hi @RuizuKun_Dev ,
It is not clear from the video, what changes were added. After the folder was added, I see the message for Save to ...rbxl" and then next save have No changes to the place detected. Did not save".
I could reproduce the issue at my end with the given info. Could please provide us steps you are doing to see the issue?
Thanks!

Yes, this has been a problem for years. Here’s the workflow I use to avoid it:

  1. Save to Roblox
  2. Save to File
  3. Publish (if needed)

Never trust the “no changes detected” message!

→ For anyone unsure how this works: if you Save to File before saving to Roblox, Studio assumes the changes are already saved, even when they aren’t.

In your case, you should still be able to recover your game from the file you saved locally.

I’ve been fighting this damned behavior for years!! Please fix.

The repro is simple:
Make any change → Save to File → Save to Roblox
This makes it refuse to save to roblox, it assumes the changes have already been saved. (they were only saved to a file, not to roblox)

Thanks for additional details, I understand how the no changes detected can be misleading when a Save to Roblox is done after Save to File. However, the save dialog do popup even after that message when editing a file, when saved all the latest changes will be on the cloud.

To understand better, when the save to Roblox is done while you are working on a file, it does load the place from cloud that has all the latest changes after the save has finished. I don’t see data loss. When you are working on the cloud copy, you will have option to Download a copy and not Save to File anymore.

Wanted to confirm if there is a data loss issue or a misleading output message?

This is only true if you aren’t editing a Roblox place yet, as-in you are only working with a local file that isn’t linked to a place yet.

I believe this only applies if you have Team Create enabled, ‘Save to File’ is still available otherwise.

This simple video shows what’s going on:

1 Like

The change was the Folder being added, the first message was done before to demonstrate that I used “Save to Roblox” before I added the Folder and then did “Save to File” and then “Save to Roblox”

There was data loss due to unexpected behavior, the issue here is that “Save to Roblox” and “Save to file” should be treated as a separate process entirely, I treat “Save to Roblox” as a backup not a main

The data loss that occurred was due to “Save to Roblox” not working properly after “Save to File”

and I was forced to use “Save to Roblox as” from my local .rbxl to get it up to date again

It is a habit of mine, I ALWAYS “Save to File” before I start a play test, “Save to Roblox” or “Publish to Roblox”

Also I have Team Create off

Thanks for the details, we will be working on a fix soon!

Hi! totally understand it is frustrating. I still wonder how/if data loss actually occurred. If I understand the issue correctly, the next “save to roblox” immediately after “save to file” is skipped if no change is made in between. In this case, all your changes are persisted locally in the file. I acknowledge that the ideal behavior should be saving the changes to roblox as well, but i want to confirm that no change is actually being lost. Thanks.