Should I make a minigame local or on the server?

Hi, I’m relatively new to coding in roblox, and completely new to the dev forum, so I apologise in advance if I posted this in the wrong subforum!

So I’m trying to make a cooking minigame in which you take the order from a customer (that is generated by the game) and you have to prepare the food. I’m not sure wether I should generate the order on the server, send it to the client, let the client handle the minigame animations and interactions etc, send the completed order to the server and have it check if it’s correct, or just have everything handled by the server.

The main things I’m worrying about are performance and exploiters, would handling all this on the server cause lag? Or would handling the minigame on the client cause a breach that exploiters could use to automatically send the complete orders to the server?

Which approach is better? Is there anything more efficient that I should do instead? Thanks in advance and I’m sorry if what I’m trying to say isn’t clear! :smile:

3 Likes

I’d make it on server if it’s something like a whole bunch of mini games something how @TypicalType type does it less like @Smellysuperfart’s Where’s the Baby. Also exploiters will be able to get though just as easily without an anti exploit script. Also I believe this should be under design support. Just ask the Top Contributors they know best.

1 Like

Hi! Welcome to the Developer Forum! :smiley:

Okay, so in your post you’ve given two options to consider. Let’s look at the pros and cons of both!

Everything on the server:

• Client can’t easily manipulate the game to reward themselves (not easy to exploit)
  • Less confusing as you don’t have to worry about sending data between the client and server
  • Could put more stress on the server, and this could cause negative effects depending on how much the server is doing.

Client handles game, reports back to server

• Less work for the server to do