Developing | How to start off?

Hello.

My name is Crash, I’m a builder on Roblox.

After talking to my friend, I went to DevForums to ask You if you can help me.

I want to know how developers start off. How do you collect ideas, how do you create a full game? Me and my friend just were really confused, we didn’t know how to start off, and we’d love to go to Roblox Developer Conference one day. And that’s why I’m asking you guys, how to start off. Do you have any tips for us?

PS: Sorry is this belongs to another category.

Regards,

CrashFacts also know as Crashstyler747
Tester, Builder.

6 Likes

Hello, Crash. I gain ideas by looking at others work and I try doing something that will test my skills to see how far I can push myself. The ideas come from popular games to see what they have and haven’t done yet.

3 Likes

For building I’m constantly thinking of different designs and processes to make an object. While once or thought about something I really like. I draw it either on paper, digital or on my own whiteboard. That way you will have a rough idea what you’re looking at and wouldn’t require so much thinking. While especially drawing it out will help as sometimes thinking something looks cool turns out it doesn’t.

An example of where I done this and has proven benefitial is when I was drawing a store which looked like this when drawn out.

Although in my final product I didn’t exactly replicate it since I thought it looked a bit naff so i looked at images or even taken a walk to refresh my mind set which eventually my building now as it stands look like this. .

Although most of this is directed at building but same applies to programming, or team management. Draw a brief doesn’t have to be detailed but execute the task and any issues that come up, you create solutions but make sure you have contingency plan

5 Likes