Struggling with motivation and perserverance

Hey, community,

I’ve been learning about scripting for about 2 years now, but I’m ashamed to say I have not a single project to display that represents that. All the ideas I come up with I fail to stick with after a certain amount of time, mainly due to me realizing what I want is unrealistic or seeing my idea handled better by someone with more experience. As a result my motivation for making games has gotten really low as of late. I’m not really sure if I have what it takes to be able to make a game, but any advice on how to come up with and stick to a basic idea would be helpful. Thanks, and hope y’all be doin ya thing.

2 Likes

Have you tried to work with a team that has another scripter? I’ve seen multiple scripters enhance their knowledge when working with other scripters in a development group. However, if you’re not a solo developer, I’d suggest to review others scripts to see what works and what doesn’t. Apologies if I did something wrong, first reply, but this is my opinion on how to regain motivation within your practices.

2 Likes

I’ve worked with a team before but they were all very disorganized, so I didn’t gain anything.

As for looking at scripts, I suppose that is worth a try. Do I just have to scourge for free models or something?

1 Like

I’d rather look at open-sourced games, I got one but the code’s outdated and broken, as they’re finished games which can show how scripts work together instead of having just one script to look at. Here’s the outdated games file(take it as an example of bad code):
aegis_thing.rbxl (3.2 MB)

2 Likes

You need to get an idea that you are like really passionate about, think of the thinks you like in general and if it would actually succeed after being released.