Tips or advice for gamepasses in a combat game?

What are you attempting to achieve?

• I am wanting to know some general tips or advice for gamepasses in a objective/team based combat game I am developing.

• The objective of the game is for one of two teams to reach a certain number of Kills in order to win a single round.

What is the issue?

• This is my first time approaching gamepasses in a game that has a primary focus on team-versus-team combat.

What solutions have you tried so far?

• I have already considered avoiding gamepasses where a player can be given unfair advantages such as 1 hit kills, over-the-top firing rates, etc.

Thank you for reading!

2 Likes

Can you give more details about the game? What are the match mechanics that you are going for? Maybe share what the vision of the game is, and/or some similar or related existing games.

1 Like

gun skins idk

Going for a “score X amount of Kills to win” type of mechanic, somewhat similar to how some games have a team elimination game mode.

1 Like

Sounds like a classic deathmatch.
Do teams have bases or do they spawn anywhere?
Do players have progression between lives, or are they reset on respawn?
Do players bring anything unique to the match or are all the mechanics the same for each player?

To answer your question (if you’re looking for answers, of course):

• Yes. Both teams have designated spawning areas.
  • Players do not have any form of progression other than the Kills they obtain.
  • The mechanics are the same of each player.

Sprays seems to be quite popular in games right now. These are where a player equips a spray item to their account, and when they press a bound key like ‘t’, it will spray their equipped image onto a nearby surface that they are facing. You can then sell or randomly give out different sprays via loot crates.