Trying to rotate a model towards a location and move it in that direction

I am trying to make some sort of basic underwater AI, and because it’s underwater I can’t use Pathfinding service or MoveTo() because they can’t go down in water. Anyway, I’m trying to apply a body gyro and a body thrust, but its not moving or rotating in the direction it should be

local dest = Vector3.new(math.random(-speed,speed),math.random(-speed,speed),math.random(-speed,speed))
local orientation = CFrame.lookAt(humanoidRootPart.Position,humanoidRootPart.Position + dest)
orientation = orientation.LookVector
humanoidRootPart.BodyGyro.CFrame = CFrame.Angles(orientation.X,orientation.Y,orientation.Z)
humanoidRootPart.BodyThrust.Force = dest

I’m not very good with CFrames/body movers, so it completely confuses me why they move the model just not in the right direction.

You don’t have to use the LookVector for BodyGyros. They can take any raw CFrame, they just ignore the position. The reason this isn’t working right now is because you’re creating a new CFrame using the LookVector as angles for CFrame.Angles. LookVector is more of a unit vector that tells the facing direction of something while CFrame.Angles expects three angle inputs in radians, as if you were setting the orientation of something using radians instead of degrees. This should work:

local dest = Vector3.new(math.random(-speed,speed),math.random(-speed,speed),math.random(-speed,speed))
local orientation = CFrame.lookAt(humanoidRootPart.Position,humanoidRootPart.Position + dest)
humanoidRootPart.BodyGyro.CFrame = orientation
humanoidRootPart.BodyThrust.Force = dest

Sorry for the late reply, i was eating-

Anyway, this does rotate the model, but the rotation is still not synced up to the body thrust movement, which leads to this weird situation where the model will turn and then just start moving in some completely different direction.