'Unable to cast Instance to int64' Using remote events, Userid

In a localscript I have a local function that takes the username entered and gets the userid, and returns it as

local userid = getUserIdFromUsername(user)

I used this to have an ImageLabel of the users’ avatar headshot which worked, but what I am currently trying to do is use a RemoteEvent to pass the userid given to a regular script, and apply a humanoid description using the id. I’m fairly new to using RemoteEvents and the confusing part is that the userid local was able to be used to make the headshot, but not to apply a description. I believe it is because GetHumanoidDescriptionFromUserId() uses a string value, but the value passed through the RemoteEvent is an Instance. Is there any way I can have the id inside GetHumanoidDescriptionFromUserId() the userid given in the localscript?

Code for reference:

Localscript (not full script)

local user = script.Parent.Parent:FindFirstChild("InputBox").Text -- username input
local userid = getUserIdFromUsername(user) -- function to get the userid
userId:FireServer(userid)

Script

game.ReplicatedStorage.UserId.OnServerEvent:Connect(function(userid)
	local d = game.ServerStorage.BaseAvatar:Clone() -- avatar used
	local desc2 = game.Players:GetHumanoidDescriptionFromUserId(userid) -- getting the current avatar
	d.Parent = workspace.Map
	d.Humanoid:ApplyDescription(desc2)
end)

Again, I am fairly new at using RemoteEvents and scripting in general, and after searching around for a while I still couldn’t figure out the solution. Sorry if I made it sound more complicated than it really is, thanks!

wait so the text is = to the player name?

user would need to be the player who focused on the text

Heyo!

Check your OnServerEvent function RemoteEvent | Roblox Creator Documentation - it takes in a Player object first, and then any other argument (information) you pass in after, such as your userId. Think of it as a list.

3 Likes