Users with reset/moderated usernames are prompted with the robux paywall instead of receiving a free name change

When an account whose username was moderated/reset (e.g., reset to a placeholder such as roblox_user_XXXXX) attempts to change their username to a compliant one, the account settings page prompts the user to pay 1,000 Robux.

Previously, accounts with moderated usernames were granted a one-time free username change upon navigating to Settings. Currently, the free change option does not appear and instead blocks the user behind the standard 1,000 Robux prompt.

Is this a new change or a bug?

4 Likes

If i recall, wasn’t it only for cases such as if your username had your private information that they granted the free-of-charge resets? You sometimes also had to contact them beforehand too.

I’m not sure sure if it was ever applied to outright rulebreaking usernames.

It wasn’t limited to PII. Free name changes were also granted to users who got their username reset due to other violations, including YT/other social media references, bypassed slurs, and other rule-breaking usernames.

Sometimes usernames were mistakenly reset, but a free name change was still a good feature to have, since it gave users a way to choose a new compliant username without having to pay, IMHO.

seems to be back for me on my main account