Using legacy enemy follow code without lag

Heya (my first post here, woo)!

So, my inquiry. I am currently developing for a game that is intensive with NPCs, but these NPCs cause lag, so I’ve been looking to migrate them from free model code to new code. A developer we once had stated that PathfindingService should be used but I’m not big on the whole pathfinding part since I haven’t looked into it yet and I’m still a huge fan of the “legacy behavior” of enemy NPCs where they lock onto someone’s torso and move to the torso’s location.

I was wondering if there is a possible way to keep this behavior and recode it so it doesn’t lag without implementing pathfinding.

Follow Logic: Lua code - 43 lines - codepad

(Thanks for any replies!)

I am not very experienced with this but here are my 2 cents:

You could make it so intead of searching through the whole list of workspace’s children, you search for each player.Character

If you want your NPCs to be able to fight with each other you can also place them inside a folder in workspace and search there for the nearest torso.

My best guesses are that the lag comes from, as you said, the script traversing through all the workspace’s children (currently 5.4k children, not including the instances inside folders/models/containers and models inside models, etc.).

Thanks for the reply, I’ll try applying this change when I have the opportunity.

https://blog.roblox.com/2012/05/using-wait-wisely/

Or consider making a “master” script that controls all NPCs at once and do the calculations sparingly every few seconds. Also creating a game that relies on large numbers of NPCs and I can easily go over 70+ NPCs without a frame drop.

1 Like

If you run all your NPCs from 1 script it works just fine