Using RemoteFunctions to let a Player type their "nametag"

Hi there! I’m very new to scripting (in general, not just Lua), and I am trying to accomplish something for a project I have in mind. However, I just cannot grasp how LocalScripts, RFs and server Scripts interact with eachother, and would appreciate some more direct help.

So, I would like to create a “RP Name” feature, often seen in roleplay, or simulator games (RHS and Meepcity are two well known examples). I chose to code it myself so I could design the UI, add the features I want and actually understand what I am doing.

I have a collapsible GUI that looks like this;

And a Overhead GUI code, that currently runs on the Player’s username, that looks like this;

--Load the usertag
local usertag = game:GetService("ServerStorage"):WaitForChild("Usertag")

--Add the usertag when join
game.Players.PlayerAdded:Connect(function(player)

--Add the usertag when respawn
	player.CharacterAdded:Connect(function(character)

if player.Name == "ninjisy" then
			--Add the usertag to the determined player + change it
			local clonedtag = usertag:Clone()
			clonedtag.TextLabel.Text = "Ninjisy"
			clonedtag.TextLabel.TextColor3 = Color3.fromRGB(119,83,208)
			clonedtag.TextLabel.Font = "GothamBold"
			clonedtag.Parent = game.Workspace:WaitForChild(player.Name).Head			
		end

end)

end)

I would like to connect these two objects with a RemoteFunction, that would allow the Overhead GUI to display what the user types in the box. This is what I cannot figure out at all.

The furthest I got is the LocalScript attached to the TextBox;

nameBox.Changed("Text"):Connect(function()
	game.ReplicatedStorage.NameChangeRE:FireServer()
end)

Could somebody give me any hint on where I should go next? How do I write a server Script that catches this fired event, and is able to get the text inputted into the box? Thank you for any help.

1 Like

Here’s some tasks you can follow to accomplish your goal: