When editing play or edit access for an experience in studio, the experience is forced into team create mode even if not desired.

The title should be self-explanatory, but please ask any specific questions if clarification is needed.

There is no reason why team create should be enabled when editing who has access to PLAY an experience, editing who can test a work in progress experience should not force-enable team create.
Furthermore, team create should NOT be enabled when editing who has edit access, ESPECIALLY not when removing someone’s access. It should be the developers choice WHEN to enable team create, and we shouldn’t be forced to wait for studio to reopen in team create mode then to disable it again just to change edit or play access settings to our experiences.

I would also like to point out that collaboration defaults to edit access and NOT play access, I would strongly suggest this be changed due to the risk of allowing someone edit access by mistake when instead intending for them to have play access to help test a game.

Replication

  • open a place in studio
  • click Collaborate (top-right)
  • give a new user collaboration permissions (note that the default permission is edit, not play)
  • save (studio will reopen the place and team create will be enabled)
    This bug has been present for atleast the past 2 years.

Hi,
We are aware of this product behavior of Team Create. We aren’t planning to change this behavior at this time. Your understanding in this matter is greatly appreciated.

to put it mildly I am angry at this decision and would strongly urge Roblox to reconsider this terrible decision. This wastes developers time and results in unnecessary calls to reload experience data from roblox, thus wasting Roblox’s money and developers money (unnecessary electricity and time consumption).

There is no reason that this can’t be a setting at the very least. Re-loading an experience twice just to change play access settings is completely unnecessary behaviour.

Furthermore, the default access permission being edit and not play is extremely dangerous and puts a LOT of things at risk, namely our experiences and our accounts (moderation for unintentional users putting mallicious items in our experiences, developers may miss that the default setting is edit and not play).