Why won't this code work in a modulescript?

I wrote some code for an NPC that chases the player, and it seemed to be working fine.

However when I stored the functions for the NPC in a modulescript, and used them in a serverscript, the script just broke.

I don’t know why, and I’m a bit of a noob when it comes to modulescripts so yeah

Code below:

-- Modulescript
local NPC = {}

function NPC:getTarget(attackDist)

local char
	local charRootPart
	local target

local minimumDist = attackDist

for i,v in pairs (workspace:GetDescendants()) do

if v:IsA("Humanoid") then

char = v.Parent
			charRootPart = v.RootPart

print(char)
			print(charRootPart)

if (charRootPart.Position - NPC.Torso.Position).magnitude < minimumDist then
				target = charRootPart
				minimumDist = charRootPart.Position

end

end
	end

return target
end

function NPC:getPath(PathfindingService, humanoid)

local target = NPC.getTarget()

if target then

local path = PathfindingService:CreatePath()

path:ComputeAsync(NPC.Torso.Position, target.Position)

local waypoints = path:GetWaypoints()
		local distance		

for _, waypoints in pairs (waypoints) do

humanoid:MoveTo(waypoints.Position)

while distance do

distance = (waypoints.Position - NPC.Torso.Position).magnitude
				wait()

end

end
	end

end
return NPC

and the serverscript:

-- Server script

local NPC = workspace.NPC
local humanoid = NPC.Humanoid

local PathfindingService = game:GetService("PathfindingService")
local attackDist = 50

local playerDetected = false
local NPC_Functions = require(script.Parent.NPC_Functions)

NPC_Functions:getTarget(attackDist)

wait()

NPC_Functions:getPath(PathfindingService, humanoid)

If anybody could help, I would appreciate it

In order to create methods for NPC you have to initalise it as a table first. i.e. local NPC = {}

I actually did that, but that line of code doesn’t appear here for some reason

Where you do define NPC? Reading your code you are using NPC as a model and a table.