How To Detect A Roblox Virus - Free Models

Hello, Roblox Community

My name is Snowflake and I am a Roblox developer, communicator, designer and content creator. As a developer, I love to build, script and design textures and models. However, I do use free models sometimes if it becomes necessary! Many people use free models, even Roblox event creators. Free models are usually created and generated by Roblox users, because of this, there is a chance that the model that you have downloaded into studio might contain a “virus”.

Free model viruses are attached into scripts, parts, textures and more. These viruses may ruin anything in your game, either the gameplay, your models, your files, your textures or might just make the game become broken. Viruses are dangerous things that can ruin our development projects! So, how do I detect and get rid of a virus in Roblox studio?

1). Open studio
2). Press on the “View” button
3). Open the explorer tab in studio
4). Find the search bar

Once you have done all of the steps above, you want to search things. Below is a list of what to search up since most free model viruses have attached files named as the following.

Spread: This is commonly used as a script which spreads the virus
Vaccine: To inject the virus somewhere
Inject: To place the virus somewhere so it can spread
Infect: To infect a certain area of files or to spread the virus
Virus: This is used to define where the root of the virus is
Hacked: A statement to announce that your studio may contain a virus now

These are only a few of the common statements used to define a virus. You should search all of these up in explorer. If you see anything related to these, find the root or the model that this is attached to and delete it! Below I will list some other common statements used to define a virus.

Emojis (?) If a user tries to put a emoji into the file name, it usually comes up as (?). If you see this attached to a texture file, it may be a virus.