2cool2beawesome's guide to studio modeling basics

Written by CFrameCollisions. I changed my name from 2cool2beawesome to CFrameCollisions.

Welcome to my guide to studio modeling basics! In this guide, you will find information on primitives, solid modeling, properties, and building tips. Keep in mind this is for absolute beginners, so if your looking for a more in-depth look at studio modeling, or hope to transition to blender, this is not the tutorial for you. With that said, let’s get started!

Primitives - The Most Important Thing You Will Ever Learn

First off, I’ll begin with primitives. Primitives are the basic part types in studio. In the properties tab, they are given a part class or one of it’s sub-classes. Below is a list with pictures of each primitive.

Primitive Parts

From left to right:

1. Block
  2. Sphere
  3. Wedge
  4. Cylinder
  5. Corner Wedge*
  6. Truss*1

*Can only be obtained from the advanced objects menu or from a mesh.
1Unlike most primitives, a truss part can’t be changed through solid modeling. Truss will be your least-used part.

Every primative except for a truss part and corner wedge can be obtained from either Home > Insert > Part or Model > Parts > Part. Either way, the icon for the primitive drop down looks like this:
The icon will change depending on the last part you spawned. When spawning a part, click the desired part from the drop down. This will cause it to spawn on the nearest surface, or on the Y=0 plane if there is no nearby part/baseplate.

All primitives, with the exception of the truss, can have their shape altered in the X, Y, and Z access to a limit of 2048 studs in any direction. When a truss part is altered in size, it will only create a new segment when the size of the collision box supports a whole truss segment (as seen below), one segment being 2 studs in X, Y, and Z value.

Truss resizing limitations

As seen above, all edits to a truss’s size must be in multiples of two.