A Comparison of two Games Discoverability & Recommendations

Hello,

To introduce myself I am an older game developer that has come from doing mobile phone games in the unity engine to explore roblox this year. The platform has a lot of nice features and is attractive to me as a developer.

Unfortunately, I am having a very difficult time understanding discoverability and advertising on the platform and I would like to highlight the performance of two of my projects as an example of this:

Project #1: Bus Driver Vietnam
This was just a quick idea I had whilst I was learning how to develop on roblox. I made it over 5 days.
ADS: I have not bought ads
UPDATES: I have never updated the game.
LIKES: It has 800k plays with 34 likes and 33 dislikes, a 50% approval rating and 0.00004% of people like the game.
FAVOURITES: It has 340 favourites, 0.0004% of players favourite the game.

Project #2: Civilisation Explorer
This is a remake of a popular mobile game I made, spent a month developing it and it is the culmination of all my time spent learning roblox.,
ADS: $10/day consistent ad spend for 6 weeks
UPDATES: I have updated the game with large content updates every week for the last 6 weeks
LIKES: It has 540k plays with 2400 likes and 600 dislikes, a 80% approval rating and 0.004% of people like the game. (100x better than game #1)
FAVOURITES: It has 6800 favourites, 0.01% of players favourite the game. (200x better than game #1)

A detailed comparison of the stats:

So my question here is why does game #1 consistently have more players than game 2? Why does roblox give 10x more home recommendations to game #1? How can a game with worse stats, no ads and no updates, be getting more players than a game with better stats, weekly updates and a fair ad spend?

I decided to try out a $50/day ad spend over this weekend to see what happened. As I write this, game #1 has 95 players (NO AD SPEND) while game #2 has 55 players ($50 / DAY AD SPEND).